Skip to main content

MRLF Delegates Unanimously Elect Slate of Officers and Executive Board Members

Minneapolis Labor Review
Social share icons

MINNEAPOLIS — Voting December 13, delegates to the Minneapolis Regional Labor Federation, AFL-CIO voted unanimously to back a slate of officers and executive board members for four-year terms.

Chelsie Glaubitz Gabiou, who led the slate, was elected to a third four-year term as MRLF president. She first became involved in the labor movement as a grocery store worker and member of UFCW. She joined the MRLF staff as political director in 2012 after working as field organizer for Minnesota’s Southeast Area Labor Council.

Other members of the slate of officers and executive board members, together with their union affiliation, included: 

 Executive Vice President: Greta Callahan, Minneapolis Federation of Teachers;

 Financial Secretary-Treasurer: Dan McConnell, Minneapolis Building Trades;

 1st Vice President: Jeff Heimerl, IBEW Local 292;

 2nd Vice President: Scott Bultena, NALC Branch 9; 

 Recording Secretary: Cabbas Abdi, AFSCME Council 5;

 Register Clerk: Ternesha Burroughs, Education Minnesota Osseo;

 Deputy Register Clerk: Annette Davis, Robbinsdale Federation of Teachers;

 Sergeant-at-Arms: Tommy Bellfield, ATU Local 1005;

 Reading Clerk: Grace Baltich, AFSCME Local 34;

 Trustees: Uriel Perez Espinosa, UNITE HERE Local 17; Aaron Hill, North Central States Regional Council of Carpenters; Russ Scherber, Pipefitters Local 539; Mary Turner, Minnesota Nurses Association; Jigme Ugen, SEIU Healthcare Minnesota & Iowa; 

 At-Large: Judy Russell Martin, Minnesota Nurses Association; Sterling Sanders, LIUNA Local 563; Chris Stinson, SEIU Local 284;

 Minneapolis Regional Retiree Council Representative, Leif Grina.

The newly-elected officers and executive board members were sworn in by Bernie Burnham, Minnesota AFL-CIO president.