About the MRLF

Community Services

Photo Gallery

Labor Review newspaper

Labor Review Archive Project


Minneapolis Regional Labor Federation



Labor 2020 Election Results

Voters in line at Minneapolis early vote center

A huge line of voters waited to vote late in the afternoon the day before the November 3 election at the Minneapolis early vote center at 980 E. Hennepin Ave.

Minnesota Senate:
MRLF helps to elect one new labor-endorsed Senator

Adapted from the Minneapolis Labor Review, November 13, 2020

By Steve Share, Minneapolis Labor Review editor

MINNEAPOLIS — The Labor 2020 effort to win a labor-friendly majority in the Minnesota Senate appears to have come up one seat short, according to preliminary election results available when the Labor Review went to press November 9.

The apparent split in the Minnesota Senate will be 34 Republicans and 33 DFLers.

[UPDATE: Just days after the election, two longtime labor-endorsed State Senators who were elected November 3 as DFLers announced that they were forming an independent caucus — leaving the DFL caucus with 31 members. See Star Tribune story.]

With the DFL retaining a majority in the Minnesota House, the state again will have a divided legislature and face the prospect of continuing partisan gridlock.

One seat picked-up by a labor-endorsed and DFL-endorsed candidate was Senate District 44 in Minnetonka, Plymouth and Woodland. There Ann Johnson Stewart, running for an open seat, won her race with 58.74 percent of the vote, comfortably beating Republican Greg Pulles by a margin of 33,844 votes to 23,747 votes.

The Senate District 44 race was one of six Senate races targeted by the Minneapolis Regional Labor Federation, AFL-CIO.

The MRLF succeeded in helping to re-elect first-term DFL incumbent Steve Cwodzinski to the Senate District 48 seat representing Eden Prairie. He won his race with 58.15 percent of the vote. Cwodzinski is a retired teacher and earned a 100 percent AFL-CIO voting record in his first term.

All of the other state Senate candidates targeted by the MRLF failed to win election.

Ann Johnson Stewart

Steve Cwodzinski

Ann Johnson Stewart Steve Cwodzinski

Bonnie Westlin came the closest to winning, running in Senate District 34 in Maple Grove, Osseo, Dayton, and Rogers. She was making a second run to unseat the eight-term Republican incumbent, Warren Limmer, who has a 21 percent lifetime AFL-CIO voting record.

Westlin improved on her race from four years ago, but lost to Limmer 29,339 to 28,439 — a margin of 900 votes.

In the MRLF’s other targeted races:

• Labor and DFL-endorsed Grechen Piper, running in Senate District 33 in western Hennepin County, lost to two-term Republican incumbent David Osmek, who won by a vote of 31,598-26,918.

• Labor and DFL-endorsed Justin Stofferahn, running in Senate District 38 in eastern Anoka County as well as parts of Ramsey and Washington counties, lost to 10-year Republican incumbent Roger Chamberlain, who won by a vote of 28,038-25,753.

• Labor and DFL-endorsed Addie Miller, running in Senate District 47 in Carver County for an open seat, lost to Republican Julia Coleman, who won by a vote of 32,366-23,724.

All in all, 15 of the 23 AFL-CIO endorsed state Senate candidates running in the MRLF’s seven-county region won election.

MN State Senators spoke at DFL election eve rally

Labor-endorsed DFL State Senators spoke at an outdoor election eve DFL rally hosted by the Minneapolis Federation of Teachers in their parking lot. Left to right: Senator Melisa Franzen, Senator Susan Kent, Senator Scott Dibble, Senator Kari Dziedzic.



Minneapolis Regional Labor Federation, AFL-CIO
List of Endorsements for the 2020 Election

Click here to view list of endorsements

Home Who We Are News Gallery Take Action Calendar
Minneapolis Regional Labor Federation, AFL-CIO
312 Central Ave., Suite 542, Minneapolis, MN 55414
Phone: 612-379-4206 Fax: 612-379-1307
Have feedback or questions about this site? Contact the webmaster.