About the MRLF

Community Services

Photo Gallery

Labor Review newspaper

Labor Review Archive Project


Minneapolis Regional Labor Federation



Labor 2020 Election Results

County Commissioners:
Outside of Hennepin County, a tough election for MRLF

Adapted from the Minneapolis Labor Review, November 13, 2020

By Steve Share, Minneapolis Labor Review editor

MINNEAPOLIS — In races for county commissioner, the 2020 election was a tough one for candidates endorsed by the Minneapolis Regional Labor Federation, AFL-CIO.

Three of the MRLF’s four endorsed candidates for Hennepin County Commissioner won election, but all four MRLF-endorsed candidates lost their races for Anoka County Commissioner and, in Carver County, MRLF-endorsed incumbent Randy Maluchnik lost his re-election bid.

Hennepin County

In the four Hennepin County races, MRLF-endorsed Debbie Goettel in District 5 was the lone  incumbent running for re-election. She won handily with 73.23 percent of the vote.

The coming term will be her second four-year term representing Bloomington, Eden Prairie, and Richfield.

In District 1, the seat vacated by the retiring Mike Opat, MRLF-endorsed De’Vonna Pittman lost to Jeff Lunde 37,236-35,944.

District 1 includes Brooklyn Center, Brooklyn Park, Crystal, New Hope, Osseo and Robbinsdale.

Lunde is the current mayor of Brooklyn Park.

In District 6, where incumbent Jan Callison retired, MRLF-endorsed Chris LaTondresse won election. He defeated former Edina legislator Dario Anselmo by a vote of 51,272 to 45,973.

District 6 includes northern Eden Prairie, Edina, Hopkins, Minnetonka, and the smaller communities surrounding Lake Minnetonka.

District 7 in western and northwestern Hennepin County also saw a race for an open seat, with incumbent Jeff Johnson retiring. MRLF-endorsed Kevin Anderson won election, defeating Johnson’s longtime aide, Danny Nadeau, by a vote of 48,765 to 45,745.

De'Vonna Pittman Chris LaTondresse

Kevin Anderson

De’Vonna Pittman Chris LaTondresse Kevin Anderson

Anoka County

While the MRLF has hopes to win back a labor-friendly majority on the Anoka County Board, 2020 was not the year. Running against incumbents, all four MRLF-endorsed candidates lost.

Cindy Hansen in District 6 ran the closest race, but she lost to incumbent Jeff Reinert 13,271-11,943.

In District 1, incumbent Matt Look won 63.61 percent of the vote and defeated MRLF-endorsed John LeTourneau.

In District 2, incumbent Julie Braastad won 71.49 percent of the vote and defeated MRLF-endorsed Noel Lutsey.

In District 3, incumbent Robyn West stopped MRLF-endorsed Nyle Zikmund’s second attempt to unseat her, winning 60.44 percent of the vote.

Carver County

Seeking a fifth term to represent Carver County District 3, MRLF-endorsed Randy Maluchnik also ran with several other labor endorsements. He was defeated by Matt Udermann 7,188-5,575.



Minneapolis Regional Labor Federation, AFL-CIO
List of Endorsements for the 2020 Election

Click here to view list of endorsements

Home Who We Are News Gallery Take Action Calendar
Minneapolis Regional Labor Federation, AFL-CIO
312 Central Ave., Suite 542, Minneapolis, MN 55414
Phone: 612-379-4206 Fax: 612-379-1307
Have feedback or questions about this site? Contact the webmaster.